Is ITIL a global standard?

Millions of professionals throughout the world use the ITIL framework. ITIL is the foundation upon which companies are designed. Using ITIL best practices, businesses and individuals can get the most out of IT and digital services. A transparent capabilities model helps define the service provider’s path and aligns it with its business plan and client needs.

Certification under the ITIL framework provides a standard language for companies employing IT-enabled services and thorough, practical, and proven information on setting up a service management system.

Before getting their certification, candidates for ITIL certification must complete an ITIL training course and pass an exam. AXELOS offers five levels of ITIL V3 certification, from the Foundation level to the Master level. It helps candidates prepare for the most challenging IT roles with more advanced courses that provide greater depth and information about ITIL best practices.

Guide to the IT Infrastructure Library

In information technology, ITIL refers to a set of standards and guidelines for delivering IT services. Firms may better control risk, improve customer interactions, and establish cost-effective procedures using ITIL’s systematic approach to IT service management. They can also create a more stable IT environment that facilitates business growth, scale, and transformation.

What’s in the IT Infrastructure Library?

Knowing when ITIL was created helps us understand its evolution over time and how it arrived at its current state today.

  1. ITIL – As previously mentioned, the initial version of ITIL arose at the end of the 1980s. The GITIM, or Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management, was its name at the time. Governments and commercial sector organizations in Europe have embraced ITIL to emphasize better delivery and support in their operations. The ITIL catalog included 30 books to provide IT best practices. ITIL has already begun to reshape the IT industry in the UK, Europe, and beyond by the early 1990s.
  2. ITIL v2 – In 2000, the first significant shift occurred in ITIL. Microsoft used ITIL as the foundation for their Microsoft Operations Framework (MOF). ITIL was now ITIL v2, which aimed to make ITIL more widely available. The 30-volume inventory was now divided into nine sections. Within a few years, ITIL has become the most frequently used ITSM framework in the world.
  3. ITIL v3 — In 2006, the ITIL Glossary was established to make ITIL easier to use. ITIL v3 was released in 2007 and is the latest version. This version focused on the integration of IT businesses around the idea of a service-oriented organizational structure. It consolidated the ITIL process/functions into five books for the third time in ITIL 3.0. AXELOS Ltd. issued a new version of ITIL 2007 in 2011 to address the inconsistencies and faults found in v3.
  4. ITIL4 – This year, ITIL 4 was released, making it the most extensively used version to date. ITIL for Collaborative Workplaces is a newer version that focuses on practical ITIL guidelines for collaborative environments. Thus, ITIL 4 is more easily aligned with enterprises’ Agile, DevOps, and Lean work approaches. The ITIL 4 is better suited to today’s digital environments because of its broader scope.

ITIL Service Lifecycle

The service lifecycle is divided into five stages by the ITIL framework. IT organizational structure is used to guide the various stages of the project. Some of these techniques are adopted by businesses because they work well for their staff. As a result, ITIL is highly adaptable. Listed below are the phases of the ITIL service lifecycle:

  1. Service Strategy: Assists firms in establishing corporate objectives and formulating a plan to satisfy client needs and priorities.
  2. Service design: Designing procedures and functions is part of service design. Service management process, technology, infrastructure, and product design are all included.
  3. Service Transition: Transitioning to a new organizational structure while retaining present service levels is called a “service transition.” Keeping risk and impact under control ensures that continuing services aren’t disrupted.
  4. Service Operation: Monitoring infrastructure and application-related services is the responsibility of Service Operation, which ensures smooth day-to-day operations. So, firms are better equipped to address the needs and priorities of their customers.
  5. Continual Service Improvement: This is part of a quality check that continuously improves processes. It happens throughout the service lifecycle.

According to the most recent version of ITIL, the focus is on company culture and integrating IT into the organization’s entire business strategy. Because other business units are increasingly reliant on technology to get work done, promoting collaboration between IT and other departments. With the ease with which enterprises can comprehend public opinion and consumer pleasure (or dissatisfaction), ITIL 4 stresses customer input.

Is it worth it to get an ITIL certification?

ITIL certifications can help you land a job or advance in your current position in the industry. Because ITIL is extensively used and recognized worldwide as a framework for IT service management, qualified ITIL professionals with relevant IT experience are highly demanded.

It’s up to each individual, though, to make the most of their IT certification program by gaining complementary skills and expertise. An ITIL accreditation is worthless if you can’t effectively manage ITSM in a real-world company IT environment.

Benefits and advantages of ITIL 4

  • Better alignment between IT and the business
  • Faster and more flexible service delivery practices
  • Easier integration of evolving software delivery practices and the enterprise customer support framework
  • Improved strategic alignment between IT and the business
  • Better service delivery and satisfaction
  • Lower costs through better use of resources
  • Better visibility of IT costs and assets
  • Better management

Getting started

It’s easy to get started by talking to industry experts about how their job helps create value for customers. If everyone approaches their work in this manner, the following stage will be a lot simpler. We live in an IT environment that is increasingly service-based, and there are plenty of opportunities for those who desire to take advantage of that. Companies have adopted ITIL as a result of witnessing it in operation. As a result, ITIL®-trained individuals are in high demand across the board.


Leave a Comment